Connecting Ophthalmologists from Around the World to Achieve Eye Health for Everyone

Members Only, News

Professor Dennis C. Lam is the 2022 Recipient of the ICO G.O.H. Naumann Award for Leadership in Global Eye Care


Professor Dennis C. Lam is the 2022 recipient of the ICO G.O.H. Naumann Award for Leadership in Global Eye Care. This honour—given in recognition of esteemed Prof. G.O.H. Naumann’s global contributions, also a Past-President of the ICO—is awarded every four years to an ophthalmologist who has shown outstanding leadership and has made a significant contribution to international eye care.

Prof. Lam is a visionary leader and acclaimed ophthalmologist dedicated to eliminating blindness. A past ICO Board Member and President of the 2008 World Ophthalmology Congress, he is currently Editor-in-Chief of the Asia-Pacific Journal of Ophthalmology. Prof. Lam is also Director of C-MER International Eye Care Group, Hong Kong, China and the Joint International Eye Institute of CUHK, Shenzhen, China, and he serves as Secretary-General of the Academy of the Asia-Pacific Professors of Ophthalmology and the Asia-Pacific Myopia Society. Prof. Lam is a member of the Council of the World Glaucoma Association, and Honorary Professor and Former Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, China.

Prof. Lam has held numerous leadership positions that include Past-President of the Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology and the Asia-Pacific Vitreo-retina Society. Prestigious awards include the Jose Rizal Medal, the ICO Golden Apple Award, and the De Ocampo Lecture Award among others, with more than 800 scientific publications throughout his career.

Prof. Lam delivered an inspiring leadership lecture at the ICO General Assembly on September 8th. He was presented the G.O.H. Naumann Award for Leadership in Global Eye Care by ICO President, Prof. Neeru Gupta at the Opening Ceremony of the 38th World Ophthalmology Congress.

Related articles

Skip to content