Connecting Ophthalmologists from Around the World to Achieve Eye Health for Everyone

ICO Examinations


Next ICO Examination Dates

  • Standard Examinations: 29 October 2024
  • Advanced Examinations: 29 October  2024

Registration and Payment Deadline Date

  • 16 August 2024

FICO - Fellow of the International Council of Ophthalmology

Passing the ICO Advanced Examination, along with a local face-to-face ophthalmology examination, entitles the successful candidate to use the post-nominal acronym FICO (Fellow of the International Council of Ophthalmology).

The Advanced Examination can be taken after passing the Standard Examinations which are divided into three subject areas:

Visual Sciences;

Optics, Refraction and Instruments;

and Clinical Ophthalmology.

The Clinical Ophthalmology examination is offered to ophthalmologists who have passed the Visual Sciences, and Optics, Refraction and Instruments examinations.

FRCS (Ophth) (Glasg) - Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow

In collaboration with the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow, ICO Examinations now provide a pathway to become a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow: all candidates who pass the ICO Standard Examinations are eligible to apply to sit a final clinical FRCS Ophthalmology Examination.  Passing this will lead to the highly recognised FRCS (Ophth) (Glasg) designation.

Skip to content